Biker Wallet: Design Problems and Fixes

I tried to make Big E a wallet this weekend but I encountered a few ( two) problems.

1) Big E is one tough customer
2) I cannot measure a straight line to save my life.

He wanted multiple patterns on the wallet and it was a complicated stamp design for a newbie. I should have practiced on scrap leather but I just wanted to get my wallet done.

I became increasingly frustrated with the design and scraped the whole piece of leather. I wanted a simple wallet to practice my stamping. Although, he has a lot of faith in my design technique and I appreciate it. However, who wants to spend FOUR hours stamping a design!

20130708-015212.jpg

Ugh, now it could be that I just do not have the patience for hand stamping patterns. I tried measuring, using guidelines and my rows and lines did not match up. There was a moment where I took a step back and realized that I probably needed to use a grid of some sort.

20130708-015537.jpg

Turns out a grid for geometric stamps is really important as well as remembering which way you stamped the tool. They must always follow in the same direction. This wallet design was a major fail. Concept wise, I should have sketched it out but I do not always think that far ahead.

In the picture below, you can see how the lines and circles do not match up. I am far from a perfectionist but even I have a crap radar.

20130708-020030.jpg

My fellow newbie crafters, here is what we learned with this try and fail craft.

1) Sketch the design beforehand.
2) Measure out a grid using rulers or a craft aid.
3) Slow and steady and remember which way you stamped the tool.
4) Stamp until you reach the brink of insanity. (Seriously, it feels like insanity)

Now, that we have begun to troubleshoot our pattern problems it should be easier to design the wallet. The next post will discuss dye and assembly of our biker wallet.

Jessie

2 thoughts on “Biker Wallet: Design Problems and Fixes

  1. Wow! I’m a paper crafter- and there are many who are very meticulous with the stamp patterns and quilled paper sizes/shapes to make their designs. I don’t have the patience- I have a general idea in my head- and I work very hard on outlining my design at first- but then, I pretty much fill in the patterns without any idea about how they will turn out. I think it would be hard to be so meticulous with this kind of leatherwork! And, I kind of thought the end product still looked pretty cool! ha!

Leave a Reply

