Biker Wallet Fail

This biker wallet seemed to just not want to be made and in the end we chalked it up to be a very poorly made prototype. Hey Failure is the first step to success, right?

20130722-120746.jpg

I know that I need a larger cutting for wallet making. The initial design was not horrendous but as they say my execution was lacking. I scoured everywhere for some sort of tutorial. There were a few on some leather forums but reading off forums is not the same as readings off blogs or watching you tube videos. I can find TONS of tutorials on knife sheaths but not very many on Biker Wallets/Roper Wallets and I still do not know what the difference is.

Initially, the interior of the wallet was supposed to have a money slot and a card and ID slot. It was ambitious and then a studio accident occurred. I spilled wax all over my leather. Do you know what happens? It is best if I show you because I accidentally created a splattered background. I tend to create that a lot. Happy Accidents.

20130722-120940.jpg

The look was interesting but it just kept getting harder and harder. I glued the insides to the exterior and had to cut it out. The card slots were not wide enough and the list went on and on.

20130722-121056.jpg

Unfortunately, it is back to redesigning the piece and I hope this time I come up with a better option. This is the reason we are beginners.

Things I Learned:

1) Close all dyes, paints, and waxes when not in use. (seems obvious but it happens)
2) Leather Cement is really hard to take off
3) Measure, Measure, Measure
4) Use a stitching pony! You can make your own here or here.
5) MEASURE!!!

I think that about sums it up. If you want a great template try Black River Laser Company because they have some great patterns for sale.

One thought on “Biker Wallet Fail

  1. […] I have really fallen in love with leather crafters and all of us have our own unique style and techniques. ¬†Each project brings me closer to myself and to mastering the basics of leather work. Maybe one day, I can actually make that Biker Wallet. […]

Leave a Reply

