Basketweave Cuff Bracelet for Boys: Part One

I decided to flirt with geometric stamping again only it was with a basketweave stamp.  Specifically, the x505 Crafttool.  So, not only did I decided to choose an angled basketweave stamp but I decided to stamp the smallest area possible.  I made a prototype and boy is it ugly. I think most prototypes and practice pieces should be ugly. I mean how can you learn to be better if everything you do comes out perfect the first time around. Besides, perfection is overrated.

I started out by watching both Bruce Cheaney ,  George Hurst (Tandy Leather)   and Tactical Leather about basket stamping and geometric stamping. Every time I see those videos I just want to run out and buy a maul. I don’t even know what weight I need but they make really good impressions. I still prefer carving to stamping but I really need to nail this skill anyway because geometric stamping and basket weave seem to be really popular patterns for holsters, cases, and wallets.

Basket weave or basket stamping needs to be done carefully and accurately to get great results. Practice, Practice, Practice. These should be like Leather Golden Rules.

I decided to combine a cuff bracelet I was making for my son and the basketweave stamping. The measurements for this cuff are for a very small wrist, use your own wrist measurements when deciding length.

Materials

Rivets

Snaps

4-5 oz Veg Tanned Leather 

Fiebings Lt Brown Dye

Alphabet Stamp Set

Bone folder/edge slicker

Leather Cement

Box Cutter

1) Measure Cuff out 1 1/2 inch wide x 7 1/2 inch long.  It is always easier to cut off excess leather  than it is to add leather.  Cut  secondary piece of leather that will be 1 inch x 4 1/2 long.

Cuff blanks for Basketweave Cuffs

2) Case Leather and measure out a guide on where you will begin stamping with the X505 Craftool. Do not press too hard into the leather or the guidelines will become permanently etched into the leather.

IMG_0277

3) Begin stamping. You will alternate creating the basket weave.

Basketweave

bw 2

4) Create a border stamp (optional) and trim edges to make them circular. Create an edge on the secondary piece using a wing divider and cut with swivel knife. Stamp name into center.

DJ Cuff

5) Create holes for rivets and stamps using a leather hole puncher.

Holes Punched

6) Glue Secondary Piece on top of the base. Let dry overnight.

We will continue this tutorial with Dyeing and Finishing our Basket Weave Kid’s Cuff.

Jessie

9 thoughts on “Basketweave Cuff Bracelet for Boys: Part One

  1. wow, I can see that it takes an expert “eye” to stamp in the right places! I remember tooling in junior high in my “crafts” class. we could work with leather, wood, silver, plaster, clay, just about anything! I loved that class!

Leave a Reply

