New Necklaces and National Craft Month

Wire-Wrapped Disk

I began this journey with a string of crackled pink beads from Wal-Mart and some cheap tools. It is now a full-fledged obsession. I am always buying beads, findings, and trying out new mediums. This month is polymer clay. My first attempt with beads came out pretty good. I stared at the marbled gold beads, trying desperately to make them round. Some came out oval and one ended up a round disk. Unintentionally, of course. Clay is a fun medium but also hard to form as a newbie.

I bought some 18 gauge black copper wire from Hobby Lobby and some wings that reminded me of an insect. I knew that the round disk would have to be wire wrapped. I also had on hand some Crystal beads from Objets D Art. So, I made eyepins and hooked them onto a black chain. My younger cousin who is 16. We are a large family, so she is my second cousin. Anyway, she was my design consultant. It was fun.

Firefly Necklace

Close Up of the winged bead.

I enjoyed making this necklace and am relieved that I can finally make proper loops thanks to the owner of Foxy Design and K Beads. He taught me when I went in to get some Rosary Findings.  I am excited about this medium and look forward to creating some pendants from it. I tried bangles but tragically it was an EPIC fail. Big E was trying to be kind but he finally just said “It’s ugly. Did you bake it already?”

I nodded my head.

“You should just break it”,  he said .

He tossed me the bangle.

Yeah, thanks. I knew it sucked but he could have had a little more finesse about it, que no.

I also created this necklace out of chain and howlite skull beads.

I am still trying to figure it out.  At least I had a sort of Forsaken Love theme going on, or at least I hope that is what it is. Big E actually liked this one, go figure. We have been selling tons of skull bead bracelets to his co-workers. I actually have an order for a red rosary but Big E is working nights so it is hard to get to the bead shop. I went today to Objets to find some red beads but instead found stone chips on sale. I picked up garnet and snowflake obsidian. Like my blogging pal at Bicultural Mom recently said “I am easily distracted by shiny things.”.

You know it. Go out and create since it is National Craft Month. Go on, take those scissors out, the glitter, the glue, maybe even the welder. Do something, embark and take hold of ideas and creativity.

Jessie

2 thoughts on “New Necklaces and National Craft Month

    • I never thought about using deer antlers though they are in ample supply, que no. I think it would be a something unique to wear but I would have probably done it on a leather cord instead of chain to keep the rustic appeal of the focal.

Leave a Reply

