A Day in the Life of A Texan

Typically, it would be windy days and warm temperatures but a freak strom passed over us at 2am. A loud boom woke me from a sleep and I was cast into a night with lightening flashes and rain. I even woke up thinking it was the end of the world. I really need to stop watching scary stuff before bed. However, despite all this I was grateful for the rain and the show. It made me feel more aware of the world and reminded me of our insignificance.

No matter what we try to do, no matter how hard we try, Nature is Nature. Sometimes, things happen with no resonable explanation since we are all creatures clammering over each other. Nature is the balance and sometimes balance is recreated. Natural disasters can not always be predictaded and have been occuring since the dawn of recorded civilization but to say it is apocalyptic comings is just too overly cuckoo for me.

We just need to realize life is fragile. Instead of worrying about money and making money. I just want to do what I love and not worry about anyhting else.  In Texas, we have cities spaced out by miles.  The nearest town to our city is about 30 minutes away and San Antonio is about 2 hours away from us and Dallas is almost 8 hours from where we are.

To be honest, I have never been to Dallas, EVER!! I do not want to drive 8  hours to get anywhere. Texas is not big on towns inbetween if you know what I mean. You can drive for hours and nothing but roads and fields.

But, it makes me appreciate the beauty of it all. Texas is alot of things. Beautiful is one of those things and we are not all ranchers even though I did grow up in a Ranching Community and Big E grew up in Corpus.

So, I tip  my head to Nature and pray she is more gentle with us in the Summer but I fear Hurricane season will be an active one.

Jessie

Leave a Reply

