My Diabetes Story

I was reading about a post on Mamiverse and felt it was time to share.  I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes when I was 24 years old with my first Child Dj.  His birth was complicated, scary,  and stressful.

I relied heavily on pre-packaged meals, canned goods, and anything in a bag. When I received my diagnosis, I cried. I felt mortality breathing down my neck, a death grip on my self as the doctor delivered the news. I was sent to a really great endocrinologist and she literally saved my life.  I am terrified of needles and anything sharp cutting into me. I had to give myself insulin injections during my entire pregnancy.

I changed my eating (dieted), regressed, and changed (dieted again) again with my daughter. Big E had lost his job by then and we were surviving off of my salary. When the oil field had another boom, we made the decision as a family that I would stay home to be with the kids. I still struggled with my binging and even worse with some depression. I found that I needed to learn how to cook especially now that I was at home.  I was never serious about changing my diet or my lifestyle.

I was naive or maybe I wanted to be ignorant of this degenerative disease that was literally slowly killing me. After baby was born, my sugars hit the “Pre-Diabetic” range. My morning sugars were between 90 to 120, not great but normal-ish. I never tested because I wanted the disease to be an  out of sight, out of mind kinda thing.

It is not just our diet as Mexican Americans that is killing us. It is the lack of inactivity and the portion sizes that are causing us to gain weight.  We grow more sedentary and these lifestyle changes hurt us.

When my son told me “I couldn’t play with him outside because I was always tired.”, I took a long look at myself in a full length mirror no less. I was always tired, irritable, and I complained tirelessly about how I felt but I did nothing to counter my disease. So one day for kicks, I tested my sugar… 165.

High, not ridiculously high but still dangerous.  I was playing rush and roulette with my life, with my well-being, and with my kids memories of me. I changed our diets slowly. I got rid of most of the processed junk and I have moments of weakness. I am not super human.  I don’t want complications from this preventable disease.

I have control of this since it isn’t Type 1 Diabetes. I am the cure for Diabetes.  I made the choice for my family to be healthy. Is it difficult, heck ya. My family can be a bunch of Knuckleheads when it comes to certain foods.

Do I buy junk food? Yeah, because the annoying barrage of “Can I have it?” wears me down. Even my husband does it, so I shop alone. My kids have refused to eat some dinners like my Healthy Clean Sloppy Joes.  They ate their fruit instead. The key was not having the temptation in the house just like not having alcohol in a home where there is an Alcoholic

Do I still make starchy tacos like potato and egg? Yes, but I also limit myself and eat healthy the rest of the day. I also exercise, now.

I really can’t change my fate. I may get Diabetes anyway as I age. I may get it in 5 years, 10 years, 20 years.  But, the lessons I learn now will be my battlefield guide to maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

 

Jessie

 

 

 

One thought on “My Diabetes Story

  1. Good for you to recognize that you needed to change how you live, in order to really live. It takes awhile to figure out what foods will work for everyone’s taste buds, and sometimes it takes time for little tasters to get used to new flavors, but it can happen. We switched to whole grains back in the ’70s–it took a year or so, but none of us would ever go back to “Wonder Bread”-style foods that are tasteless or rely on salt and fat for the flavor, instead of the natural ingredients. Junk food will always be a temptation, but if your family gets good food at home, you will have provided a good foundation and raised the bar for them–in addition to helping yourself stay healthy. Bravo for you!

Leave a Reply

