A Letter to Myself: Day 30 of the 60 Day SlimDown Challenge

30 days of exercise, 30 days of change, and 30 days of struggling with myself have all been to reach this milestone.

I never thought I would reach these thirty days and I saw myself giving up during week three. I always knew that consistency was the key to weight loss success. I was in denial hoping that my half assed efforts would garner results. When it never happened, I chopped it up to the fact it was whatever diet, whatever else was wrong with me, but in the end I knew it was me.

It was me who refused to take 20 minutes to take a walk, so many excuses fell from my lips. So many wasted days and months all because I was fearful, ashamed to admit I had let myself go. I lived in a shield of denial but no more. This is not a yearning for the past or past life but for how I felt about myself.

I can feel the me emerging kinda like in Tropic Thunder.  You know when Downey tells Stiller “I’m the dude who plays the dude disguised as another dude. You’re a dude who don’t know what dude he is.”

Stiller: “Or are you a dude who has no idea what dude he is and claims to know what dude he is by playing other dudes?”

Confused ? The final line is “The dudes are emerging.” and that in a nutshell is how I feel.  I am trapped in my body, trapped by my insecurities, trapped by body image and yet I am emerging.

I am halfway there and I have some serious surprises along the way. I have new goals to conquer and I hope each one of you will follow me on my journey and maybe be inspired to start your own!

I owned these 30 days and only 30 more to go!

Jessie

2 thoughts on “A Letter to Myself: Day 30 of the 60 Day SlimDown Challenge

Leave a Reply

