Coconut Oil For Your Skin: Nourishing your Body from the Outside In {Review}

Although, I am new to this whole sustainable and real food living journey, so many have taken me under their wing and offered solid advice, support, and opportunities to ask questions. I wanted to find something that I could use from home and when I approached Hybrid Rasta Mama, she graciously sent me an amazing email with loads of information!

One of the first thing she told me to do was use Coconut Oil for cooking. I do but not as often as I should. I ran across on her blog a series of posts titled 160 uses for Coconut Oil and apparently you should add “and counting”. I was flabbergasted, really a 160 uses.  It is true, there are so many uses for Coconut Oil. I had never know it is such a versatile ingredient.

To start me out on my journey, she sent me her E-Book titled Coconut Oil for your Skin: Nourishing Your Body from the Outside In,  in her introduction to her book, Jennifer, states:

Coconut Oil is the perfect carrier oil to use when making personal care products and toiletries. This is because coconut oil is:

  • anti-bacterial
  • antifungal
  • anti-inflammatory
  • anti-microbial/Infection Fighting
  • an antioxidant
  • anti-viral

Those reasons alone sold me on this book and the benefits of coconut oil. I was extremely apprehensive to try my own hand at making  products. I mean, I burn stuff occasionally…well..more than occasionally. My fears were soon negated when Jennifer opened her book with her Introduction and a well-informed, well-written, thought-out crash course into this age-old craft.

Crash Course One (my words not hers) Carrier Oils and Butters, que? followed by the English variation What?

I continued on through the page where she distinguishes the Carrier Oils and Butters she uses in the recipes that follow. There are descriptions of Avocado Oil, Apricot Kernal Oil, Cocoa Butter, and Neem Oil to name a few. They are aptly described which is amazing for a newbie like me who has little or no experience in the field.

Essential Oils was by far my favorite part of this book It gave the name of the oil, the Physical Benefits of the Oil, and the Emotional Benefit of the oil. She also gives another crash course in Essential Oils for those of us who have never worked with them. Very informative without the cloudiness of wordplay, simple, concise, and direct  just the way I like my DIY books.

Her last piece of advice is Storage, Ingredient Notes, and a sort of Hey y’all don’t forget.

Jennifer had this to say bout when you complete your projects:

Remember-those recipes are additives, preservative,a nd chemical free which means they will not “look” like the products you purchase from the store. However, they will feel so much better and your skin will thank you for only using products from nature.

Another important thing to remember was this:

When using essential oils it is imperative that you find a reputable supplier of theraputic-grade essential oils, using organic, or wild crafted varieties,w hen possible. Synthetic copies of oils commonly used in perfumery are not appropriate, and may even be harmful to you or your child’s health.

After pages 1-13, it is all recipes. Body washes, Sugar Scrubs, Lotions, Muscle Smoother (which I need to make, seriously), scar diminishing lotion, face scrubs, face cleansers, shampoos, conditioners,lip balm, and my favorite section Anything Goes.

The anything goes section covers toothpaste, deodorant, a love potion, an insect repellent.

I was astounded by the many uses of coconut oil but infinitely more impressed at Saleem’s knowledge and the effort placed into these recipes. This e-book is an amazing starting off point for anyone who is interested in living a more chemical free lifestyle and easy enough for those of us who want to start small like Lip Balm.

Here is her basic lip balm recipe:

Basic Lip Balm

Hybrid Rasta Mama

  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp beeswax
  • 1 Vitamin E Capsule
  • 2-3 drops of flavored oil

Coarsely chop or grate your beeswax and place in small pot or glass Pyrex measuring cup along with the butters and carrier oils on top of a double broiler.

Gently melt the ingredients together over the simmering water.

Make sure the water does not boil over into your mixture.

Once wax has melted, remove from burner, and add in essential oils.

When you are happy with the scent, pour into tubes or tins to cool.

Voila! Simple and there are tricks if something goes wrong and etc. Overall this book had lots of great information and a ton of recipes. It is a great investment book to get your started on making your own soaps and other toiletries. I cannot wait to get the rest of my essential oils to start recreating the shampoos and body creams.

Jennifer Saleem is the author of Hybrid Rasta Mama, a blog which provides her views, experiences, insights, and research on any and all things related to conscience parenting, natural/mindful living, holistic health/wellness, real food, and Waldorf educating/parenting.  Jennifer’s goal is to inspire people around the world to take what she has written, do further research if needed, and apply it to their families and their lives.

Jessie

*I was given a copy of Coconut Oil for Your Skin: nourishing Your Body From the Outside In  for review but the views and opinions expressed are my own!

3 thoughts on “Coconut Oil For Your Skin: Nourishing your Body from the Outside In {Review}

  1. Coconut oil is wonderful and has a billion uses–BUT it’s not heart healthy. It leads to bad cholesterol & triglyceride counts. So use it sparingly on the inside, and slather it on the outside of your body. I’m pretty sure you can check my claim out at the American Heart Association site.

    • I figured, kinda of like butter. I use it sparingly if at all in cooking. I usually use Olive Oil instead. I guess like everything in life…MODERATION! I appreciate all your comments Kristine and I hope you have an amazing weekend!

Leave a Reply

