Mexican Breakfast: Machacado con Huevo

Machacado con Huveo is something that my grandparents made sometimes but it was a rarity in my own home. In fact, my mom was a potato and egg kinda woman. As much as I like papa con huevo, I must say that Chorizo and Egg is definitely my favorite. I didn’t have an opportunity to make my own Chrorizo because I was just being lazy so I decided to do this instead.

Machacado is dried beef aka beef jerky and please do not use jerky that is in those packages in the junk food aisles. It isn’t that type of beef jerky but I know it as Carne Seca. Here is a picture of the Carne Seca used for this dish.

If you make homemade jerky then you can either shred it by hand or use a food processor to get it flaky. My abuelo used to dry beef, old school style, without a dehydrator. I bought mine at our local HEB about a week ago.

I wanted to go with simplicity with this dish because breakfasts at our house were always simple growing up and I have even adopted that method. I was making corn tortillas but it was so humid that my tortillas were sticking to my plastic sheets so I did a sort of hybrid of a chalupa/puposa/arepa thing which was basically Maseca made into a round and cooked on my comal.

Baby really liked and ate a bowl full. I also ate it but Big E and Dj do not eat egg which I hate because it limits the breakfast options for our house.

It was really fast to make this and I was actually worried that my limited cooking skills would have me throwing out burned remnants.

Machacado con Huevo Recipe

Ingredients

1/3 to 1/2 cup of Carne Seca

1 clove of Garlic minced

1/2 of a small Onion chopped

3 eggs

1tbs Olive Oil

Directions:

Add Olive Oil to a skillet or cast iron on medium heat, when warmed add in diced onion and garlic.

Saute until translucent.

Add in Carne Seca and cook until warmed about one minute.

Add eggs and scramble until fully cooked.

Guacamole Recipe

Ingredients

1 small tomato

2 small avocados

1 clove of fresh garlic

juice of half a lemon

salt

Dice Tomato

Cut avocado in half, remove pits, scoop into dish. Proceed to mash with a fork, add in garlic, mix.

Add lemon and salt.

Refried Beans

1 cup of cooked beans

1 tbsp of Olive Oil

Directions

Heat olive oil in pan.

Add beans, heat until cooked. Mash with potato masher, add water if it gets too dry.

Season with Salt and Pepper

Make tortillas as per directions on the Maseca Package and form round discs. Heat on a comal until cooked.

Assemble the corn tortillas/arepas on a plate, slather with beans, add machecado and guacamole.

I hope you enjoyed making this as much I did. I think though that for next time I will probably make Salsa Ranchera to give it a little spice. I should have used HEB’s That Green Sauce but I totally forgot about it.

I also entered this in Girlichef’s Breakfast Club Blog Hop.

Jessie

8 thoughts on “Mexican Breakfast: Machacado con Huevo

  1. You my friend, have a real future in food blogging. :) And I love Machaca con Huevo! My grandpa used to dry his beef on the roof of our trailer when I was little. I sometimes make my own beef jerky in the oven, but I prefer drying my carne on the clothesline. :)

  2. This looks SO incredibly delicious, Jessica! You don’t know how excited I am to make my Machacado con Huevo for breakfast this morning…your photos have my cheeks tingling and my belly rumbling. And I’ll have to second that motion – you’re a total food blogger, great job! I’m so happy that you cooked up some delicious breakfast to share with the breakfast club while I’m hosting this month. :)

  3. Yay! Welcome to the world of food blogging, be careful it is addicting…LOL!! I have a love/hate relationship with machacado. I really need to give it another try! Thanks for sharing!
    Ps. sharing on my Fan page!

    • Aww..you are so sweet, my blogging sister. You have a love/hate relationship with it like I do with Nopalitos. I didn’t add too much Machacado so it wasn’t too overpowering.

  4. You’re killing me! I haven’t had carne seca since I lived in Mexico but you inspired me to go on a hunt. There’s one tiny store 45 minutes from here that just might have it, but given the way you made the flavors jump off the page, I think the drive will be worth it. Thank you!

    • I love to eat it right out of the bag and it was another positive of doing this hop was that I was able to enjoy it more than once. I hope you enjoy making it as much as I did! :)

Leave a Reply

