Adult Multicultural Books {Hispanic Heritage Month}

I love books.

There is just something about the words, the settings, and the inspiring challenges the protagonist faced while fighting to beat one of the three conflicts.

Man vs Man, Man vs Nature, and Man vs. Self but the ones I especially loved where the stories that had a severely flawed hero archetype.

Supernatural, Dystopian, and Gothic literature are some of my all time favorite genres of literature but I also really loved the multicultural books I read in many of my classes.

I was an English Major in my former life and although I read voraciously when I was young, the book that made me go hmmm….. was a novel called Pocho by Jose Antonio Villareal. It brought to light some of my own inner turmoil I felt.

I am going to be giving out some list of books for Hispanic Heritage Month which started on Sept. 15th and runs through Oct. 15th.

I also hope to incorporate more Multicultural Lit from other cultures as well as some relevant Historical Fiction.

These are my recommendations for Adult MC Books:

Bless Me, Ultima by Rudy Anaya

Rain of Gold By Victor Villasenor

Macho by Victor Villasenor

Borderlands/ La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua

Pocho by Jose Antonio Villareal

With His Pistol In His Hand by Americo Paredes

And the Earth did not Devour Him by Tomas Rivera

Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros

In Cuba I was a German Shepard by Ana Menendez

Adios, Happy Homeland by Ana Menendez

Amigoland by Oscar Casares

Brownsville by Oscar Casares

Hard Boiled Egg by Oscar de Los Santos

Drink Cultura: Chicanismo by Jose Burciaga

The Education of Richard Rodriguez by Richard Rodriguez

Woodcuts of Women by Dagoberto Gilb

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez

Ink by Sabrina Vourvoulias

Many of these novels deal with duality, some with assimilation, but the reason I choose them is because of the authenticity of their characters which is important when choosing multicultural literature.

Next week I will have a few reviews and a list of Young Adult Literature.

Any books I missed?

Jessie

Leave a Reply

