Project #6 DIY Chalkboard Pumpkin {100 Days of Crafting}

I had four different pumpkins staring at me. Three yellow and one white and although I wade through all the pumpkins on Pinterest, none seemed to say “That’s me”.

It could possibly be because I am too rugged or maybe too lazy. It could also be that I am thinking “Gah, why didn’t I think of that!”

Alas, I decided to spray paint my pumpkin with Krylon Black Chalkboard Paint.

Why?

Because I have two small children who love to ruin…errrepurpose my designs that I use for this blog. I figured it could entertain them as well, win-win. I also thought you could buy the dollar store pumpkins and it would be a cute party idea.

I spray painted outside on my lawn and Big E still hasn’t noticed the black spray paint stains..shhh.

Do you like my old cardboard box? I found my Krylon Spray at Hobby Lobby for around $9.00 and with my 40% off coupon it was a steal!

I followed the directions and sprayed in an evenly coat horizontal first and them vertical. BTW, you need two coats to get the chalkboard finish.

I forgot how hard it was to spray paint since we used to spray paint our Spirit Signs in highschool.

Allow to dry at least 24 hours and if you look close enough, you can see me in the pumpkin.

I drew this little face but Baby got a hold of it.

Film edge makes it creepier, right? Either that or I was trying to hide my siding which is dirty from the rain, I vote creepier!

I like this idea better than a cut pumpkin because I can change styles but the only chalk I had was bulky sidewalk chalk. I am used to plain old teacher’s chalk.

What types of pumpkins decorate your home?

Jessie

2 thoughts on “Project #6 DIY Chalkboard Pumpkin {100 Days of Crafting}

Leave a Reply

