Calabaza con Pollo {Chicken and Squash Stew}

I love Calabaza (Mexican Squash) but I miss the huge ones that Abuelo used to cut from his garden during our mild fall months. Calabazita was one of those dishes reminds me of my Abuela.  Each serving of squash and chicken would be served with a few fluffy and warm corn tortillas. It is one of my comfort foods. A dish that just reminds me of home and since Dia de Los Muertos is coming up at the end of the month.

This may be on the Altar that  I make honoring my Abuelitos. It is by far the one dish I always hold close to me.

Ingredients needed:

2 Squash (Mexican/Tatuma or even zucchini)

2-4 Small to Medium Tomatoes

1 bag of Frozen Corn

1 Can of Tomato Paste

2 tbsp of Comino (Cumin)

2 tbsp of Chile Powder

1 clove of garlic

1/4 of a cup of green bell peppers and onions

1 tbsp of olive oil

1lb of chicken thighs

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Peel and dice Squash. Set aside

Dice tomatoes. Set Aside

Dice clove of garlic, onions, and bell peppers.

Add in chicken, squash, tomatoes, bag of corn, onions, bell peppers, garlic and tomato paste.

Fill  up Crock pot with water. Stir in spices and let simmer until chicken is cooked and squash is soft.

Spoon into dish and serve with corn tortillas.

A little taste of South Texas Mexican Comfort Food from yours truly.

Jessie

Leave a Reply

