10 Leather Starter Tools You Need

When I started leather crafting, I had received a kit for review from Tandy Leather. I didn’t even know the names of the tools I was buying. I didn’t even realize that there were specific tools for different carving techniques. Over a few months, lots of reading, and personal errors I decided to write this post to give other beginners a starting off point.

This is just my personal list that I have in my own tool arsenal.


1) Rotary Hole Punch

This is a rotating punch with different sizes for punching holes into leather.

2) Veiners, Camoflauge, and Background stamps

Each one of these stamps does something different and they are great for hand stamping patterns.

3) A sharp knife or box cutter.

I use a box cutter to cut my leather. The are also round knifes, cutting knives, etc.

4) Alphabet stamp set

There are several different types but I really want the ones from Melody Ross.

5) A Mallet

You will need a poly mallet for leather crafting. Never use a metal hammer because it will ruin the integrity of your stamps.

6) A hard surface to work on.

I use a granite sink cutout that I found as scrap at a local tile place.

7) Dyes, Paints, Finishes, Resists, and Antiques

Not all dyes are created equal but as a new crafter I suggest water based dyes which are more forgiving. Do not be afraid to experiment with acrylics

Resists help when dying objects different colors on the same piece of leather. Antique glazes add more of a brown coat to the leather. It is actually a very beautiful technique.

8) A ruler and cutting pad.

I use metal rulers and a quilt cutting board that is soft to absorb cuts.

9) Tracing or Transfer paper plus a stylus.

A stylus tool is great and there is one that even has a modeling tool at the end of it. The stylus allows you to transfer your picture to the leather.

10) LEATHER preferably Veg Tanned.

If you want to achieve a beautiful stamped finish I suggest veg tanned leather. As a beginner you may want to stick to the least expensive options instead of buying a huge side.

Next post will cover different leathers available for use in small leather projects.

Jessie

Leave a Reply

