30 Minute Monday: Lace Bow for Back to School

image08

We finally had the opportunity to enroll my four year old into a Pre-K4 program in the same school as her older brother. This was the monumental milestone that she had been coveting since her brother went to Kindergarten last year.

Unfortunately, she was not too happy with the uniform requirements. She is my little diva so I wanted to do something special for her.

I decided to create some bows for her so that she could still rock some sort of personal style while being in compliance with the dress code. I started looking up lots of ideas on Pinterest and apparently bow making is more complex than I realized. It even has its own lingo much like any other craft.

Acronyms like OTT began to pop up and I immediately used google. I mean what else would you do. Apparently, OTT means Over the Top and let me tell you those bows are FABULOUS. Add in snaps while saying that if you want to because I literally channeled Hollywood from Mannequin.

But, the OTT bows DIY’s scared the heck out of this Texas gal so I decided on a cute, feminine bow that encompasses both class and sass. My motto if you ask me. The only downside was that I couldn’t find any good ribbon material in our local stores since we moved to a very tiny Texas town.

I had to make due with what was in my stash and what I could find. The school that she attends they can only wear maroon and khaki and on Fridays they are allowed to wear Black and Gold. Because, obviously, Football Fridays and we represent for the local high school.

I followed this basic bow tutorial and added a little bit of lace from my stash in Ecru.

Here is Cowgirl Lace in all its simple glory:

Lace Cowgirl Bow

I hope to be making more bows for my daughters and maybe even some headbands. It was a fun and easy project that can be done in 30 minutes.

Jessica

 

Leave a Reply

