Divorced Parenting: How to transition from Stay at Home Mom to Working Mom

Transitioning from a Stay at Home Parent to a Single, Working Parent has not been an easy transition. In the beginning, my online blog and being online was my escape and it was those personal connections that helped me survive my imploding marriage. I started subbing and getting my feet wet with being comfortable with leaving my baby alone. I hadn’t stepped into a real working environment for little over 4 years.

1) Network. It is so important to network outside of the computer. Get to know the people in your community and make sure to have real life references as well. People who know you. If you haven’t worked in a while, do some freelance work or volunteer so that you can explain the gap in your employment.

2) Don’t be scared. It is hard to go back to work because i knew that it was the first step into my new life.

3)  Remember, it is about our financial security and independence.

I have been so busy with my first year back as an educator that I have had to step back several times to readjust my life. Healing is a process and taking back your independence is not an easy road. I am lucky that I already had my degree and certifications before I had my children.

I found my place again. The classroom makes me happy and inspiring others has made me branch off a little into really delving into pedagogy and helping new secondary teachers in my  new blog called Stacked Pages. All things secondary education will be there.

In the end, we have to branch out and figure out what works best for OUR family. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season and know that despite all the trials that there is a way out. All you need is to have a stable foundation to regain your footing and it will not be easy but it will be worth it.

Jessica

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

