My Word for 2017: Conquer

Six days.

Six days have passed since January 1st, 2017. I watched, inspired, as everyone celebrated their words for 2017. Those small goals we whisper out into the world. Behind the one word prompts, we have hidden our future hopes and aspirations. I struggled to find my word.

I went straight back to work as an English teacher on the cusp of our standardized testing schedule. I felt overwhelmed, stressed, and apathetic.

I sat wondering about my word, staring out at empty desks and nothing. The recesses of my mind were empty. For a brief moment, I questioned if perhaps Tejana Made had outlived its time. When I started my blog, I was in it for something that I couldn’t quite pinpoint. Maybe it was my escape from my failing marriage or a way to find my voice. All I know is that for two years, I didn’t exist in the world of blogging.

Two years later, I emerged as a changed woman with a restored passion for all things Tejas and for her little blog meant to showcase her dying cultura. A true Tejana as DC lovingly calls me…I am neither Mexican nor Mexican American. I am other. A dying culture, the last stand of the American Cowboy, of the Mexican Vaquero, of Tejano Culture.

I sat here pondering and it wasn’t until I talked to my friend from Shine Beautifully, April Monterrosa that I realized my word.

2017.png

Conquer to overcome and take control of a place, successfully overcome a problem. Synonyms include Ascend, Vanquish, Trounce, Master, Surmount, Rise Above.
I have risen like a the vanquished phoenix to rise again stronger. I rose different from the shattered remains that were life. I ascended to a place of importance once I released the focus of only allowing myself to rise. I could not conquer without a tribe, without help, without my hermanas (blogging hermanas) who were there when I descended into a deep abyss.
To conquer is to be true to who I really am. I truly look forward to conquering obstacles, creating more streamlined business products, writing on Stacked Pages, and relaunching Tejana Made Designs.
To all my hermanas, together we conquer 2017! Adelante!
One thought on “My Word for 2017: Conquer

Leave a Reply

